Men need to become familiar with the divorce process in Colorado, and ensure that their legal rights are protected.
Under Colorado law, you can file for divorce provided you have lived in the state for at least 90 days before filing. You have to wait a minimum period of 90 days, before the divorce is granted.
You can expect the divorce process to take up to five months to resolve for a simple divorce. However, the duration of time increase with the complexity of the divorce. Some challenging divorce cases can take months to resolve.
Get expert legal advice before a divorce in Colorado. A divorce lawyer will have a better grasp of the legal challenges that you will face as you go through the divorce court system in Colorado, and will help you avoid many of the mistakes that men make during a divorce.
For example, your wife may pressure you for high alimony or spousal maintenance payments. It is not necessary that you have to agree to these. You must protect your rights when it comes to division of property too. In Colorado, marital property is different from separate property. Marital property refers to the property that was acquired by you or your spouse during the marriage, but separate property is the individual’s own property that was brought into the marriage, or was gifted, or inherited by one of the spouses while in the marriage.
While Colorado does not allow for allegations of infidelity in the divorce process, you could find that any allegations of infidelity are considered by the court when it comes to division of assets, or determining alimony payments. It’s critical to have legal representation by an experienced divorce lawyer who can prevent financially catastrophic decisions in your case.